top of page

Books of 2020

Updated: Jan 4, 2021

This year, while mostly chaotic, did allow for some extra time. I was able to create this website and post a lot of papers I've written in the past two and a half years of graduate school. I also had more time to create art which is one of my passions. The one thing I was most excited about was reconnecting to books. I have not felt I had time to read since undergraduate school and remembered how much I loved getting lost in a great book. I took the extra time and tried to practice some self-care by reading (or listening to some audiobooks). Just note anytime I mentioned reading it is mostly listening which I felt more comfortable doing this year. I downloaded the Libby app which allowed me to create a library card and loan out some books. I went a little overboard and read about 87 books. I decided I'd share some of my favorite reads from this year and maybe get some ideas for next year, even though my list is already a long list. I kept track with my Goodreads account (https://www.goodreads.com/candypie). I got a little carried away so if anything skim and look at the titles and definitely checks out the ones rated 4 or 5, they were my favorites.

 

The New Books I Read

5 Stars

Braving the Wilderness: The Quest for True Belonging and the Courage to Stand Alone by

Brené Brown. I rated this 5 out of 5 and love this book. Brené Brown has found herself a new fan. The first book I've read from her and I really loved it. It was a journey reading this book and I found it so important and powerful. Would highly recommend and excited to read her other book and new podcast


Midnight Sun by Stephenie Meyer. This book is brand new and I'm glad I decided to read it. I also decided to reread the Twilight series earlier in the year and it was amazing seeing how the author has grown in her writing. I am hoping there will be more books from the perspective of Edward and/or other characters from the series. I rated this one a 5 out of 5 and would recommend this book if you liked Twilight when you were younger and also still love the vampire love stories.


Little Fire Everywhere by Celeste Ng. I LOVED this book and also watched the Hulu series while I read. The characters are all so interesting and I'd highly recommend reading. I gave this book a 5 out of 5 and also listened to the Unlocked podcasts with the actors from the show as well as the author. I am a big fan and excited to read more books from Celeste.


The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins. The BEST BOOK I READ ALL YEAR. I love The Hunger Games series both books and movies. I reread and rewatched both to prepare for this book. I really like the insight on Snow and the story about his past. This book was so good it lingered far after I finished reading. I gave it a 5 out of 5 and would highly recommend it.


Untamed by Glennon Doyle. I also loved this book and rated it a 5 out of 5. I think this book is so powerful and inspiring and I think any woman can read it and connect with some aspect of it. I liked the feminist themes and think it used some awesome metaphors about being tamed and how to combat that. From reading this book I am now a fan of Glennon and want to read her first book.


Daring Greatly How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead by Brené Brown. I loved this book and actually read it for my internship class. I learned so much about vulnerability, shame, and connection. This is the first book I've read by Brené Brown and I am such a fan. I have her other books on my list and also started listening to her new podcast Unlocked which is also a great listen. I rated this a 5 out of 5 and would highly recommend giving this book a read.


Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson. Loved this book! So many times I laughed out loud. Jenny is so real, so funny, and so impressive. She was vulnerable in the book and it is inspiring. The random, goofy, and hilarious chapters ended up strangely having a deeper meaning and I loved it. Also, I listened to the audiobook and got an extra bonus chapter! I rated this 5 out of 5.


A Women Is No Man by Etaf Rum. I highly recommend reading this book. I rated it a 5 out of 5. I went through so many emotions while reading this book. I would become so angry at the characters and situations in one chapter and empathetic in the next. It was hard not to be compassionate for each character at different times and also so frustrated. I enjoyed how each chapter was about a different generation and the book, in general, was wonderfully and beautifully written.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. I rated this a 5 out of 5 and loved this book. It is a heartbreaking and powerful story about a girl named Star. This book gave me insight into a world I will never fully understand. While reading I experienced so many feelings. I laughed, cried, was infuriated, and confused. I highly recommend this book and now look forward to seeing the movie.


Educated by Tara Westover. This book was a terrific read. I found myself wanting to hear more and more. Then being upset I went through the book so fast. This story was frustrating while also inspiring. I'd highly recommend.

 

4 Stars

How to Be an Antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi. This book was on my list, but I also decided to read it because Ibram was on Brene Brown's podcast about this book and it really piqued my interest. I gave this book a 4 out of 5 and highly recommend reading it. Ibram has a fascinating perspective, and while reading I found myself asking so many more questions. If someone were to read this, let me know so I can reread and discuss some of my questions with you, I so badly wanted to discuss it with someone. This book definitely made me think way past finishing which I find a characteristic of a good book.


The Goldfinch by Donna Tart. I rated this a 4 out of 5 but it was a close 5. I thought this was a great book following the main character that not only goes through trauma at a young age but also issues with substance use. I think the connection with art was powerful and I really enjoyed this book as well as some quotes that came from the book that I have fallen in love with. I can see some cool art therapy ideas from this book and excited to explore more.


Over the Top: A Raw Journey to Self-Love by Jonathan Van Ness. I read this because I love Queer Eye and Jonathan is so inspiring. I really loved that this book is not a normal read, it is so raw and it was honestly so refreshing. I have so much respect for Jonathan for being so truly him and again so inspiring. I rated this book a 4 out of 5 and would recommend reading it to gain a better understanding and respect for Jonathan and to learn about self-love.


Circe by Madeline Miller. I really liked this book and also like greek mythology. I've always loved Greek mythology and Circe is such an amazing and complex character. I love the adventure, betrayal, and magic that is mixed in this book and it always left me wanting more and more. Circe starts off a small character and evolves into a powerful witch. Very good writing and I loved the audiobook reading as well. Would highly recommend and rated it a 4 out of 5.


Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson. I really liked this book and rated it a 4 out of 5. I think Jenny's book is fun, funny, and powerful. I enjoy her humor and fun witty personality. I read the books out of order but still appreciate reading this one after Furiously Happy. Will look forward to her next book.


Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens. A great read and I rated it 4 out of 5. I really enjoyed this book. I enjoy books with the past to future theme and then coming together at the end for the best psychological/mystery style. Would highly recommend reading it.


Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid. I rated it 4 out of 5. Took me a while to get used to the way this book was set up. I listened to the audiobook and I really liked how they had different voices for each character. I was hooked after the first 3 sections and really liked the storyline and how the author set everything up. Really good read.


The Things You Can See Only When You Slow Down: Guidance on the Path to Mindfulness from a Spiritual Leader by Haemin Sunim. Rated 4 out of 5. A nice light read and very insightful. I enjoyed many of the statements of encouragement and wisdom.


The Water Dancer by Ta-Nehisi Coates. Rated 4 out of 5. Ta-Nehisi Coates writes so well and elegantly, it is hard not to love his books. He also has the power to bring light to issues that need to be discussed. I enjoyed this book but will say I got lost in the eloquent wording, some parts went over my head and I had to go back to really understand the storyline. Overall, a good read and a great author.


Pax by Sara Pennypacker. A cute little book. I enjoy books that take you on a journey. I like the back and forth between chapters coming together at the end. This was an adorable story


Girl, Wash Your Face: Stop Believing the Lies About Who You Are So You Can Become Who You Were Meant to Be by Rachel Hollis. I listened to the audiobook and loved listening to the author's voice to tell hard stories from her life. She explains how these situations shaped her thinking and her strength. She is a beautiful writer and I love going through the journey taking some helpful tips for my own life.


Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by Newt Scamander. Love this book simply because of the connection with Harry Potter wizarding world. It was fun getting more background to the creatures in fantastic beasts.

 

3 Stars

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. This was the last book I read in 2020 and I liked it, but it was not one my favorites. I enjoyed the back and forth between the main characters but it tended to be a little slow and I lost interest from time to time. Overall it was a good book.


The Pull of the Stars by Emma Donoghue. This year I also joined an online book club, and some of the books I read were due to that. This was one of the monthly books. I did not connect with this book, and it took forever for me to enjoy the story which only really took place in the last two chapters. It was definitely interesting to learn about another time period going through a pandemic and what working in a hospital might have looked like. I rated this a 3 out of 5 and it's just because it is not my normal genre.


The Color of Law: A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America by Richard Rothstein. I rated this a 3 out of 5 because I liked it but it was intense and often times frustrating. This is basically a history book that I never was taught and which most need to learn. I have always struggled with history and the dates often became overwhelming which made the book hard to listen to. I would recommend reading this and having it in book form. I would also say I struggled with the audio reader being a bit monotoned and boring.


Becoming by Michelle Obama. I rated this book a 3 out of 5. I liked this book and liked learning more about Michelle's life and perspective from the first lady. I really like how the book was set up to progress through life with her husband and ultimately them together in the white house. I enjoyed hearing the book in Michelle's own voice and it made it much more personable.


An Unquiet Mind: A Memoir of Moods and Madness by Redfield Kay Jamison. I liked this book and rated it a 3 out of 5. It was a nice short read and very insightful. It gave a great look inside her personal journey with mania and depression. I think she was very brave to share her story and also continue in a career despite the struggles she had. I would recommend it for those interested in learning about inside experiences with mental illness and are interested in psychology.


The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald. It took me a bit to get into this book but it was really a nice/fun read. It is a wholesome story and was a nice change of pace for the books I was reading. I rated this book a 3 out of 5.


Whisper Network by Chandler Baker. I gave this book a 3 out of 5 and wrote in my review that it was interesting and reminded me of a TV series. The book had dramatic moments followed by long dull moments. I would say this book was okay and it was not till the end till I was interested followed by the book ending and being a bit disappointed.


Wait and See: Finding Peace in God's Pauses and Plans by Wendy Pope. I decided on this book to reconnect spiritually and believed it fit the current circumstance of COVID-19. I liked this book and rated it a 3 out of 5. I think I needed the actual book rather than the audio, It was hard to follow along in the way I believe the book was supposed to be. I did struggle with this book because It did not go deeper like I was looking for.


Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis. This has been on my list for a while and found the audio so I

thought why not. I liked this book and rated it a 3 out of 5. I definitely need to reread cause some aspect went right over my head. I love C.S. Lewis and want to read and learn more.


Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur. I rated 3 out of 5. It was written beautifully.


Art Matters by Neil Gaiman is a nice short read. I rated it a 3 out of 5. It is a really good book, with a great message of creating art. Nice short read but very inspirational.


Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus by Dusti Bowling. I know this book might be for a younger crowd, but I really really enjoyed this book. This book gave me insight into those who have disabilities and how life is different. It could give hope and educate about compassion.

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck: A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life

by Mark Manson. I read this for the book club and like the book. It was an interesting read. I enjoyed the authors story and how he has come to his subtle art of not giving a fuck. The book is humorous and real. At points it became repetitive, but overall I enjoyed the book.

 

2 Stars

Sister Outsider: Essays and Speeches by Audre Lorde. I think this book is a good read. It has a powerful message and I learned from the read. I did really struggle reading it. I did not love this book and I might try again, in a year or so, to reread. Overall, I gained some new insights. I'd rate it 2 out of 5.


The Magnolia Story by Chip Gaines. I stated this book early in 2019 and never finished so I started again and finally finished. I rate it a 2 out of 5 because while I love the couple and hearing their story, it felt repetitive.


The Last Black Unicorn by Tiffany Haddish. I think Tiffany is an amazing comedian and it was interesting to read about her story which had a lot of hard moments. I did struggle to get through this book and thankful I listened to the audio with her reading it which made it better. I do not think I would of gotten through the book otherwise, it was hard to follow with the back and forth and ups and downs.

 

1 Star

On Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth Century by Timothy Snyder. I will be honest this was my least favorite read. I originally gave it a 2 out of 5 and just changed it to a 1.

 

Some books I read for school include Treating Those with Mental Disorders: A Comprehensive Approach to Case Conceptualization and Treatment by Vicotria E. Kress, Addictions Counseling Today: Substances and Addictive Behaviors by Kevin G. Alderson, Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches by John W. Creswell, Man and His Symbols by Ju ng, Carl, Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis: Theory, Method and Research by Jonathan A. Smith, Family Therapy: History, Theory, and Practice by Samuel T. Gladding, and Genograms: Assessment and Intervention by Monica McGoldrick.

These books I usually rate a 3 out a 4 just because they are not the normal genera I enjoy and it's purely used as educational. Occasionally I will really like some required reading and these include Art Therapy and Substance Abuse: Enabling Recovery from Alcohol and Other Drug Addiction by Libby Schmanke, The Role of Metaphor in Art Therapy: Theory, Method, and Experience by Bruce L. Moon, The Adolescent Psychotherapy Treatment Planner

Arthur E. Jr Jongsma, Jungian Art Therapy: Images, Dreams, and Analytical Psychology by Nora Swan-Foster, Art Therapy Research: A Practical Guide by Donna Betts, and Tools of the Trade: A Therapist's Guide to Art Therapy Assessments by Stephanie L. Brooke.


Reread

Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia, #1), Prince Caspian (Chronicles of Narnia, #2), The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (Chronicles of Narnia, #3), The Silver Chair (Chronicles of Narnia, #4), The Horse and His Boy (Chronicles of Narnia, #5), The Magician's Nephew (Chronicles of Narnia, #6), and The Last Battle (Chronicles of Narnia, #7). I read them all and I have honestly only read a couple before but I decided to read them all in order and I really love this book series. Would highly recommend.


Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1), Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2), Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3), Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, #4), Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5), Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter, #6), and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7). I've read all of these at least once but this year, because we went to Universal Studios and Harry Potter World.

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer: Twilight (Twilight, #1), New Moon (Twilight, #2) Eclipse, and Breaking Dawn (Twilight, #4). I reread these due to the new book that came out and also rewatched all the movies. Still love them and would recommend the newer book. You can see the growth as an author and I really enjoyed that.

The Immortals series by Alyson Noel: Evermore (The Immortals, #1), Blue Moon (The Immortals, #2), Shadowland (The Immortals, #3), Dark Flame (The Immortals, #4), Night Star (The Immortals, #5), and Everlasting (The Immortals, #6). Started reading them while in highschool but this was when the last couple were not out yet so I never finished the series. Honestly, it is not my favorite series but enjoy the first book a lot.


The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1), Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2), and Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3). One of my favorite books and movies. I reread these due to the new book and already want to reread them.


Esperanza Rising Ryan, Pam Muñoz. I read this in middle school and wanted to reread. I liked it but I do not think it is one of my favorites.


The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo. I reread this because it seemed like forever since I read it. I rate it a 3 out of 5 . I still like this book.

Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo. I rated this a 4 out of 5 and reread because I wanted an easy read between heavy books. This one is a classic to me.

Paint the Wind by Pam Muñoz Ryan. This was one of my favorite books as a child. I reread and I still really like this book.


The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts by Gary Chapman. Reread this because I had some clients that I recommend this book too and wanted to remember some of the goodies in this book. I really like this book and think it could be helpful to understanding how we give and accept love.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page