top of page

Grief Meander Book


Materials Needed Include:

Paper, pens, paints, markers, scrapbook paper, cardboard, stickers, scissors, glue, and Meander directions.

Goals Are:

1. Identify positive things about the deceased loved one and the lost relationship and how these things may be remembered.

2. Increase understanding of the process of grieving and letting go.

Directives:

1. Either have the Meander book pre-made or follow Meander directions with the client to make the book.

2. There will be 24 pages within the book. Have clients decorate the cover with cardboard and any art media to make books their own.

3. Clients will be provided with prompts for each page of the meander book and will be used similarly to a journal or diary.

4. This book can be used throughout the session, at home, or a mixture of both.

5. Different types of art can be implemented depending on what the client needs.

6. Provide time to discuss prompts and artwork or journaling that was created in or out of session.

7. At the end of the session, instruct the client to help clean the art space.

Adaptations & Safety: If the accordion-style journal does not work or become too difficult for clients, there are many other bookmaking techniques that can be supplemented as well as providing store-bought journals. Depending on what the client uses during sessions, safety precautions and supervision should be implemented.

Resources/Prompts: The therapist will provide prompts. Some examples may be; I’m grieving the loss of, my favorite memory is, my support system includes, it hurts when, it is helpful when today I remembered, the thing is to miss most, things that make me think of you, if I could go back in time, one thing you taught me, your best and worst quality, my plan for this day, month, the year is, how I feel today, how loving you have changed me, how losing you has changed me, how I cope, how I am healing, I know I am going to be okay because.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page